Malcolm Edwards Prize for Best Overall Appellate Brief

The Edwards Prize is given each year to the best overall Appellate Brief written by a first-year student in Legal Analysis, Research and Writing (LARW). The prize includes a cash award of $2,000.

The award was established in 2012 by a donation from the law firm of Smith Goodfriend, P.S., to honor the firm’s founding partner, Malcolm L. Edwards, ’57, who devoted a substantial portion of his law practice to appellate advocacy. He was lead counsel in more than 100 published opinions in the Washington appellate courts, appearing on behalf of a diverse clientele in all three divisions of the state intermediate appellate courts, the Washington Supreme Court, the Ninth Circuit, and the U.S. Supreme Court, before retiring in the late 1990s. Mr. Edwards was chair of the task force that wrote the current Washington State Rules of Appellate Procedure in the early 1970s. He has received numerous awards, including the University of Washington Law School Order of Barristers award and the Washington State Bar Association Award of Merit, and was one of the first dozen lawyers selected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers. His former partners created this prize to honor his devotion to appellate practice, the rule of law, and the pursuit of justice.

To be considered for the Edwards Prize, students must participate in the First Year Appellate Advocacy Competition, and complete the course requirements for Legal Analysis, Research and Writing. The winning brief will be chosen anonymously from among the revised briefs submitted in LARW at the end of Spring Quarter. LARW faculty and the partners of Smith Goodfriend will participate in the selection. These readers will not know the identity of the brief authors until after the winner is selected.The Edwards Prize is separate from the awards given for "Best Brief" in the Moot Court competition. The Moot Court briefing awards go to the team briefs that receive the highest scores in the competition. The Edwards Prize, by contrast, is for the best overall individual brief submitted in LARW after the competition is over.

Edwards Prize Winners

  • 2013 Victoria Ainsworth
  • 2014 Jason Kirk
  • 2015 Duffy Romner
  • 2016 Katherine Shattuck

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2018, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195