In brief: news and accolades from the law school community

posted Jun 26, 2018

Faculty and Staff 

Mario Barnes co-authored What Can Brown Do for You?: Addressing McCleskey v. Kemp as a Flawed Standard for Measuring the Constitutionally Significant Risk of Race Bias.

Bill Bailey, director of Trial Advocacy and professor, received Philip A. Trautman Small Section Professor of the Year Award. He also authored “Lessons From Pop Culture: What The School of Rock Can Teach The School of Law” in the Journal of Legal Education.

Melissa Berry, assistant dean for Student & Career Services, was elected to the Executive Committee of the Student Services Section of AALS. Berry also presented at 2018 National Association of Law Student Affairs Professionals (NALSAP) Conference, Association of Academic Support Professionals (AASE) Sixth Annual Conference, Legal Master’s Programs for Non-Lawyers Second Annual Conference, Women Making Waves Conference: Building Success Through Resilience and the Association of American Law Schools, 2018 Annual Conference.

Karen Boxx, professor, was named to the 2018 Superlawyers list.

Steve Calandrillo, Jeffrey & Susan Brotman Professor, authored “High Standards: The Wave of Marijuana Legalization Sweeping America Ignores the Hidden Risks of Edibles,” forthcoming in the Ohio St. Law Journal with recent graduate Katelyn Fuller. He also received a Philip A. Trautman Professor of the Year Award.

Ryan Calo’s essay “Artificial Intelligence Policy: A Primer and Roadmap” was selected for the 8th Annual Privacy Papers for Policymakers and presented at a ceremony at the Capitol Visitor Center in Washington, D.C. Calo is the Lane Powell & D. Wayne Gittinger Endowed Professor.

Eric Eberhard, affiliate professor, received the 2018 Lawrence R. Baca Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Federal Indian Law.

Jennifer Fan, director of the Entrepreneurial Law Clinic and assistant professor, was selected to participate in the UW Leadership Excellence program.

Peggy Jarrett, head of Collection Development, has received the 2018 Robert L. Oakley Advocacy Award from the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL).

Richard Jost, director of the UW Law Librarianship Program, received the 2018 Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions in Technical Services Law Librarianship from the Technical Services Special Interest Section Awards Committee.

Elana Matt joined UW Law Student and Career Services as the new Director of Professional Development.

Sandra Morriss, career coach and academic adviser, won the SBA Employee of the Year Award.

Huy Nguyen was named the new director of the William H. Gates Public Service Law program.

Anita Ramasastry, Dean Emeritus Roland L. Hjorth Professor of Law, was cited in Justice Sotomayor’s dissent in the Supreme Court case Jesner v. Arab Bank, PLC.

Kathryn Watts, Jack R. MacDonald Endowed Chair and professor, was elected to serve as a public member of the Administrative Conference of the US (ACUS). She also received a Philip A. Trautman Professor of the Year Award.

Peter Winn was cited by Justice Thomas in his dissent in the Supreme Court case Carpenter v. United States.


Connie Cheng, rising 2L, was awarded the Seed IP Law Group Founders Scholarship. 

Rachael Clark, rising 2L, was named a Practice Pro Diversity Scholar.

Danny Waxwing was named a 2018 Equal Justice Works Fellow.

Michelle Hur and Ryan Gompertz, recent JD graduates, were awarded the Clinical Legal Education Association’s (CLEA’s) Outstanding Student Award for the 2017-18 academic year.

Commencement 2018 Honors and Awards

Juris Doctor

Dean’s Medalists

  • Ben Crozier
  • Madeline Lamo

Eugene Wright Scholars

  • Katherine Shattuck Gabriel (2017)
  • Alexander Arkfeld (2018)

School of Law Gonfalonier

  • Leslie X. Wu

Hugh Miracle Opening Statement Winners

  • Nitika Arora
  • Theodore Shaw

Jack MacDonald Merit Award

  • Miles Bludorn
  • Kendel L. Froese
  • Crystal Pardue

John C. Coughenour Best Oral Advocate Award

  • Theodore Shaw

Spirit of Alena Suazo Award

  • Minjung (Michelle) Hur

William L. Dwyer Jury Project Award

  • Ben Crozier
  • Madeline Lamo

WSMJC Justice Charles Z. Smith Award

  • Nico Quintana

Order of the Barristers

  • Sarah Aitchison
  • Nitika Arora
  • CaroLea Casas
  • Jacob Dini
  • Nathan Frei
  • Gabrielle Hanna
  • Eric Kohan
  • Rosa Ostrom
  • Theodore Shaw
  • Stephan Yhann

Pro Bono Student of the Year

  • Ari Robbins

Honorable Mention

  • Sarah Aitchison 

Pro Bono Honors Recipients

  • Kelsey Armstrong-Hann
  • Courtney Blackburn
  • César José Hernández Bonezzi
  • Alexandra Burton
  • Omar Cojulun
  • Anna Faoro
  • Kendel L. Froese
  • Jenna Gustafson
  • Alison Harper
  • Adam Haynie
  • Alexis Howell
  • Miki Hoy
  • Minjung (Michelle) Hur
  • Annika Kaufman Perkins
  • Devin Kesner
  • Charles King
  • Julia Michel
  • Michael Mohan
  • Muriel Moore
  • Katrina Outland
  • Derek Peterson
  • Jessica Puckett
  • Nico Quintana
  • Michael Rebagliati
  • Susana Ruiz
  • Kyle Schroeder
  • Katherine Shattuck Gabriel
  • Christina Weidner
  • Danny Waxwing

Justice Charles Z. Smith Public Service Award

  • Alison Harper
  • Theodore Shaw

SBA Award for Student Service

  • Mary Opler
  • Christina Weidner

Graduate Program

PhD Program Outstanding Dissertation Award

  • Haroun Rahimi

Asian and Comparative Law LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Melissa Chyun Yea Tseng

General Law LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Ariane Lefrançois

Leadership Award

  • Eric Zhengchao Liu

Global Business Law LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Evelyn Guesser Ascenço
  • Paula Pera Czollak
  • Misae Fukanuma 

Health Law LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Julie K. Smith
  • Jaclyn Greenberg

Intellectual Property Law and Policy LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Kristin Whinfrey
  • Alexis Liistro
  • Lin Li 

Spirit of Excellence Award

  • Xiaohan Lei

Sustainable International Development LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Margaret Cowen Schmidt
  • Pagamsuren Lkhagvasuren

Roy Prosterman Leadership Award

  • Sara K. Parker
  • Adaobi Egboka

Taxation LLM Academic Excellence Award

  • Kaitlyn Kelly

Master of Jurisprudence Academic Excellence Award

  • Yuliya Cheung

Spirit of Excellence Award

  • Zachary Hudgins

Pro Bono Honors Recipient

  • Eric Zhengchao Liu

Class notes

Andreas Kaltsounis ’99 joined BakerHostetler’s Privacy and Data Protection practice.

David Brandon ’12 was recognized as Attorney of the Year by Lewis & Clark Law School’s Small Business Legal Clinic.

To have your awards and accolades included in the next In Brief, please email