Each quarter, we round up the latest news and accolades from outstanding students, faculty and alumni within the UW Law community. See what these UW Law Dawgs have been up to this winter.

Faculty and Staff

Jacqueline McMurtrie, University of Washington professor of law and founder of Innocence Project Northwest, was awarded the 2019 University Faculty Lecture Award.

Michele Storms, assistant dean for public service and founding executive director of UW Law's Gates Public Service Law Program, was named executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Washington.

The Innocence Project Northwest Clinic received the King County Bar Association's Friend of the Profession Award.


Devon Blevins and Stephon Hatton were awarded Peggy Browning Fellowships for summer 2019.

Amira Mattar received the Washington State Minority and Justice Commission's 2019 Justice Charles Z. Smith Award.

Michelle Saucedo, a 3L Gates Scholar, was selected for a post-graduate, two-year Equal Justice Works Fellowship.

Class Notes

Erin Anderson ‘93 and Sara Leverette ‘11 have been brought on as partner and of counsel, respectively, on the Land Use and Natural Resources team at Van Ness Feldman.

Jennifer Barcelos ‘10, former Gates Scholar and lecturer at UW Law, took over as director of law and policy at Friends of the San Juans.

Jefferey Doty, J.D. ’11 LL.M. ‘12, was named senior tax manager with Doty Group of Tacoma.

Judge Rebecca Glasgow ‘02, who served as executive editor of the Washington Law Review, was elected to Division II of the Washington Court of Appeals.

Graciela Gómez Cowger ’97, CEO at Schwabe Williamson and Wyatt, received the 2018 LBAW Abogada Excepcional Award for outstanding leadership in the Latino community.

Gov. Jay Inslee appointed Brian C. Huber ‘93 to the Douglas County Superior Court.

Lora McCray ‘88 became the new director for the office of minority and women inclusion at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Attorneys Richard Lentini ‘88 and Andy Murphy ‘13 joined the Miller Nash Graham & Dunn law firm.

Sen. Jesse Salomon ‘02 was elected and sworn in as senator representing Washington’s 32nd Legislative District.

Casey Trupin ‘99 is the new director for youth homelessness at the Raikes Foundation.

Jovita T. Wang ’10 was promoted to partner at the law firm of Richardson Wright LLP.

Gov. Jay Inslee appointed Josephine Wiggs-Martin ‘04 to the King County Superior Court.

In Memoriam

Melda Kamil Ariadno, LL.M. ‘95 Ph.D. ‘11, served as dean of faculty of law at the University of Indonesia. She died at age 50.