Faculty and Staff

The Latina/o Bar Association of Washington awarded its annual Community Service Award to the Washington Leadership Institute for its work in support of LBAW members and other members of underrepresented communities.

Mario L. Barnes, UW Law Toni Rembe Dean and professor of law, served on a national leadership panel focusing on law schools’ responses to racism and violence in the wake of recent tragedies. The event was hosted by Baylor University.

Karen Boxx, University of Washington Professor of Law, was named to the 2020 Washington Super Lawyers list.

Mireille Butler and Jennifer Lee Koh joined UW Law in 2020 as visiting scholars. Butler now teaches the first-year Legal Analysis, Research and Writing program, and Koh directs the Immigration Law Clinic.

Professor William Covington was appointed to serve as UW Law’s new Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Pontus Niklasson rejoined the University of Washington School of Law as registrar and director of academic services.

Professor Liz Porter has been appointed to serve as UW Law's new Associate Dean for Academic Administration.

Assent Compliance ranked UW Law Professor Anita Ramasastry No. 3 on its list of 2020 Top Corporate Social Responsibility Influence Leaders.

Professor Toshiko Tanaka served as a keynote speaker at the 39th Annual International Conference of Thermoelectrics.


Deepak George, Devin Glaser, Jevan Hutson ’20, AJ Kidd, Mandy (Meiyun) Kim and Sulaf-Al Saif earned second place at the nationwide Georgetown Law Technology Review Student Writing Competition.

Rachel Dow and Ali Johnson are the recipients of John Paul Stevens Fellowships for 2020.

Olivia Hagel is the winner of the latest Malcolm Edwards ’57 Award for Best Written Advocacy.

Class Notes

Breean Beggs ’91 won a city-wide election to become president of the Spokane City Council. He took office in January 2020.

Alaska Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon nominated Alaska Federation of Natives attorney Nicole Borromeo ‘07 to the board in charge of redrawing the state’s House and Senate districts after the 2020 census.

Beth (Smith) DiFelice ‘91 joined Arizona State University as an assistant dean at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law.

Seattle attorney Linda Ebberson ‘76 of Lasher, Holzapfel, Sperry & Ebberson was named a “Best Lawyer” by The Best Lawyers in America in the practice of family law.

Lara Fowler ’04 completed a Fulbright Fellowship in Sweden during the 2019-2020 academic year. Her work focused on why and how people cooperate to manage and find solutions to critical water challenges.

Michael H. Hekman LL.M. ‘12 has joined Garlington, Lohn and Robinson, PLLP as an attorney.

Wes Henricksen ’06 was promoted to associate professor of law at Barry University in Orlando, Florida.

Judge Laura C. Inveen ’79 has joined fellow classmate Judge Bruce W. Hilyer ’79 of Hilyer Dispute Resolution as a private mediator and arbitrator.

Sanjini Jain ’19 joined PwC India as an associate with the Sustainability & Responsible Business Advisory Team.

Spokane-based law firm Witherspoon Kelley brought on Laina Johnson ‘19 as an attorney to practice in business and corporate real estate and construction law.

Multipractice law firm White and Williams announced the addition of Bruce MacLennan ‘93 as counsel in the firm’s New York City office.

The City of Lakewood appointed long-time public defender Lisa Mansfield ‘95 as Lakewood Municipal Court Judge.

Jessie Mindlin ’90 was appointed by the State Department to travel to Barbados, St. Vincent and the Grenadines to provide training to law enforcement, counselors, attorneys and general community members on responding to gender-based violence.

Robert Misulich ’11 joins Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt as a business shareholder specializing in corporate governance, corporate services, government contracts, labor, employment and benefits.

Cameron Monti '02 joined MDH Venture Capital as its chief operating officer and general counsel based in the Chicago area.

Jessica Nguyen ‘06 was named 2020 Startup Solo GC of the Year by Corporate Counsel in its annual Best Legal Departments Awards.

Saranda Ross '19 was one of 22 UW students and alumni awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program Scholarship for the 2020-21 academic year.

Louis Schotemeyer ’04 rejoined Newmeyer & Dillion in its Newport Beach, California, offices as partner.

Sofia Sheppard ‘05, associate general counsel and global head of licensing and business development for Spotify, was named to Billboard’s Top Music Lawyers of 2020 list.

Alaska Republican Party Chairman Glenn Clary named Miranda Strong ‘12 as the party’s new attorney.

Keelcy Perez Woolley M.J. ‘16 was named a 2021 Henry M. Jackson Foundation Leadership Fellow.

In Memoriam

This summer, the University of Washington community mourned the loss of Bill Gates, Sr. ’50, a jurist, civic leader and philanthropist who served as a transformative force for good in communities around the globe. He died at age 94.

Sarah Leyrer was a graduate of the Washington Leadership Institute and Seattle attorney who was described as a fierce advocate for social justice. She died at age 41.