UW Law is proud to announce that the University of Washington Board of Regents has approved endowed appointments for law faculty.

Tamara F. Lawson, Angélica Cházaro, Jennifer Fan, Monte Mills and Xuan-Thao Nguyen received new endowed appointments. The following faculty received renewed endowed appointments: Steve Calandrillo, Mary Fan, Michael Hatfield, Sanne Knudsen, Lisa Manheim, Shannon McCormack, Peter Nicolas, Anita Ramasastry, Zahr Said and Toshiko Takenaka.

Endowed appointments provide recognition and support to exemplary faculty members and can play an important role in recruitment and retention. These endowed gifts greatly enrich support for the teaching and research activities of distinguished faculty and bring public recognition of their status.

Tamara F. Lawson was appointed to the Toni Rembe Endowed Deanship. Learn more about Dean Lawson’s appointment. Toni Rembe, ’60, has left an indelible mark on the legal profession, first working as a tax attorney on Wall Street and later becoming the first woman to be named partner at a major law firm in California. She continues to be a leading advocate of equity through her philanthropic work as president of the van Loben Sels/Rembe Rock Foundation, a private foundation specializing in social justice and related legal services.

Angélica Cházaro, Lisa Marshall Manheim, Monte Mills and Zahr K. Said are Charles I. Stone Endowed Professors in Law. The endowed appointments honor Charles I. Stone, ‘33, a close friend and legal counsel to Clairmont L. Egtvedt and Evelyn Egtvedt, who funded the endowment. Charles Stone was known and admired for his expertise in probate, tax and estate planning law, as well as his commitment to mentoring junior attorneys. He was an entrepreneur and business leader and a champion of numerous community causes and organizations, including the United Way of King County.

Xuan-Thao Nguyen was appointed the Pendleton Miller Endowed Chair in Law. The endowment enables the University to attract and retain a distinguished faculty member in the School of Law. Pendleton Miller, ’35, and his family played a significant role in the early development of the City of Seattle, and he is a former senior partner at Lane Powell LLC. He and his wife, Elizabeth Carey Miller, established the Miller Foundation which continues to fund important causes around the region, including public interest fellowships for UW Law students and the UW Law Immigration Clinic.

Steve Calandrillo is the Jeffrey & Susan Brotman Professor of Law. Jeff Brotman, ‘67, founder and chairman of Costco Inc., also served as a UW Regent. Susan Brotman chaired the UW Foundation Board. Together they devoted significant time and resources to support both the University of Washington and the School of Law through the creation of endowed professorships, scholarships and programs. The Brotman professorship was created to help the law school recruit and retain excellent faculty in any area of law.

Jennifer S. Fan is the D. Wayne and Anne Gittinger Professor of Law. The purpose of this professorship is to enhance the university’s ability to attract and retain distinguished faculty in the school of law, specifically faculty in corporate or business law. Wayne Gittinger graduated from UW Law in 1957 and was a longstanding partner at the law firm of Lane Powell. Together, Anne and Wayne were awarded the William H. Gates Volunteer Service Award in 2005, in recognition of their numerous contributions to the UW and the UW School of Law, including the development of William H. Gates Hall.

Mary D. Fan is the Jack R. MacDonald Endowed Chair. A 1940 graduate of the UW School of Law, Jack MacDonald worked for three decades as an attorney for the Veterans Administration in Seattle. His estate gift to UW Law supports student scholarships, faculty excellence and investment in innovative programs to enhance students’ education and professional opportunities. The trust also provides support for the Jack R. MacDonald Endowed Chair in Law, adding to the ranks of the school’s distinguished faculty.

Michael Hatfield is the Dean Emeritus Roland L. Hjorth Professor of Law. Learn more about Dean Hjorth’s legacy. Ron Hjorth served on the UW faculty for 45 years and was dean when the law school celebrated its centennial. The Hjorth Professorship was established with gifts from alumni and friends to commemorate his retirement. The goal of the professorship is to attract and retain distinguished law school faculty, which Hjorth saw as integral to the long-term success of UW Law.

Sanne H. Knudsen is the Stimson Bullitt Endowed Professor of Environmental Law. Among numerous and significant civic contributions to the region, Stimson Bullitt, '49, established the Bullitt Foundation to support work to enhance the biological and physical environment, specifically in the Pacific Northwest. The professorship is dedicated to supporting faculty with expertise in environmental law and a commitment to the orderly development of laws designed to preserve and maintain environmental quality in the Pacific Northwest, the nation and the world.

Shannon Weeks McCormack is the Garvey Schubert Barer Professor of Law. The professorship was established by Michael (‘64) and Lynn Garvey along with several other UW Law alumni who worked at the law firm then known as Garvey, Schubert and Barer, including co-founders and named partners Ken Schubert, ’64, and Stan Barer, ‘63. The professorship was created to help the UW School of Law attract and retain outstanding faculty in any area of law.

Peter Nicolas is the William L. Dwyer Chair in Law. The Dwyer Chair was created by Frederick Smith, ‘62, Jon Hemingway, ’82, and Stevedoring Services of America to honor the late judge’s life and career. Judge Dwyer, ’52, was appointed a U.S. District Court judge after 30 years in private practice, including the founding of the law firm Dwyer Culp. The chair supports recruitment and retention of faculty who have achieved national recognition in the field of law and who are expected to make contributions to the advancement of teaching and research in law.

Anita Ramasastry is the Henry M. Jackson Endowed Professor of Law. The professorship was established by the Jackson Foundation in honor of the late U.S. Sen. Henry “Scoop” Jackson during the 50th reunion of UW Law’s class of 1935. During his nearly 43 years in Congress, senator Jackson was known for relying on the lessons of history and the process of dialogue to understand complex issues and shape public policy. The professorship supports faculty who share his interest in international law, including the development of law and policies to protect global human rights.

Toshiko Takenaka is the Washington Research Foundation/W. Hunter Simpson Professor of Technology Law. The professorship honors W. Hunter Simpson, a founding board member of the Washington Research Foundation and a pioneer in developing technology industries in Washington state. Founded in 1981 by Tom Cable, William H. Gates Sr. and W. Hunter Simpson, WRF is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to helping Washington state research institutions and entrepreneurs capture value from their emerging technologies while helping innovative products and services to reach markets for the public benefit.